Dean's 21st Century DaVinci Challenge

Award Description: The purpose of the ePortfolio is to demonstrate evidence of growth and progress toward the idea of the "21st Century DaVinci." Students will attend at least three Renaissance Circle workshops throughout the year (mandatory) and will submit evidence of their experience on their ePortfolios to be evaluated on the basis of cross-disciplinary proficiency, creative literacy, and a playful sense of lifelong learning. The 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place winners will receive a badge and a cash prize of $1000, $500, and $250, respectively. Multiple winners may be selected to split each prize.


To view a complete list of students who have claimed this badge, visit the Notre Dame Credly page. Please note that not all ePortfolios are public and some may require an ND login to access. To login, click here.

2014-2015 Winners

1st Place Dominic Acri

2013-2014 Winners

1st Place Elizabeth Tafesse
2nd Place Jennifer Cha
  Kevin Wilkins
3rd Place Franklin Forsberg

2012-2013 Winners

1st Place Rachel Wallace
  Ajani Crosley
2nd Place Yuxuan Chen
  Maria Do
  Zachary Wiley
3rd Place Thomas Behrens
  C. James Herrick IV
  Abigail Bartels

2011-2012 Winners

1st Place Samantha Lessen
  Sean Hamilton
2nd Place Karina Dube
  Amy McDill
3rd Place Todd DeRose
  Hansel Weihs
  Michael Polignani

2010-2011 Winners

1st Place Irere "Romeo" Kwihangana
2nd Place Ryan Snelling
3rd Place Denise Umubyeyi
Honorable Mention Nelson Guillen

Judging Criteria: Students have completed an ePortfolio that displays:

  • Cross-disciplinary proficiency
  • Creative literacy
  • Playful sense of lifelong learning

Reviewer: Panel that includes First Year of Studies faculty/staff and members of the ePortfolio Program

Eligibility: Available to students in the College of the First Year of Studies

Badge Award Dates: Historical (not currently available)