Moreau Five Pillars Badge

Award Description: The Moreau Five Pillars Badge acknowledges an early and intentional commitment to deep integrative learning which is anchored in values consonant with the highest goals and aspirations of the University of Notre Dame. Badge earners create new eportfolio text and media which demonstrates how their broad Notre Dame experiences, discoveries, and values, the very “art of completeness” about which Moreau writes, are rooted in the five pillars of mind, heart, zeal, family and hope.  First year students who earn this badge have gone above and beyond course requirements to show progress towards meeting Notre Dame Undergraduate Learning Outcomes A and D: they incorporate Catholic intellectual tradition in the communication of self-knowledge as they articulate their educational and life goals.


Earning Process:

  1. Students are nominated by their Moreau First Year Experience instructor as being in the top 15% of their class, based on required integrative assignments.
  2. Nominated students are contacted with instructions for a new portfolio assignment that centers on a commitment to integrate the ideals of the Five Pillars in learning and student experience.
  3. Submitted portfolio assignments are evaluated using the judging criteria below.

Judging Criteria: Nominated students become badge earners by presenting work that:

  • Thoughtfully answers the provided prompt in a new integrative reflection which contains both text and media 
  • Displays creativity in portfolio design and effective use of media
  • Reaches the Milestone level of the AAC&U Integrative Learning Value Rubric
Reviewer: Panel that includes Moreau Instructors and members of the ePortfolio Program

Eligibility: All nominated students who satisfy the judging criteria will be recognized with a badge.  Top submissions receive cash prizes.

Badge Award Dates: Spring semester

Contact: The Moreau First Year Experience Website

To view a complete list of students who earned this badge, visit the Notre Dame Credly page. Please note that not all ePortfolios are public and some may require an ND login to access. To login, click here.

2016-17 Winners

First Place Bruce Morris
Second Place Christina Schuler
Third Place  Carissa Baldwin

Spring 2016 Winners

First Place Andres Rincon (ND login required)
Second Place Lydia Costello
Third Place  Cami Carballo (ND login required)

Fall 2015 Winners 

First Place Sophia Costanzo
Second Place Claire Doyle
Third Place (Tie) Victoria Erdel and Rathin Kacham

Badge Earners

Bethany Boggess Jonathan Juan Genevieve Olsen
Matthew Chignoli Katherine Karnosh Noelle Pierce
Caroline Christmann Kassidy Kelly Kathleen Ryan
Julia Corr Alex Kruszweski Morgan Seidler
Joseph Crowley Tanner Leighton Madeleine Thompson
Kevin Dingens Donald Luc Claire Turgeon
Thomas Doran Jarod Luedecker Zoe Usowski
Gunner Garner Abraham Mansour Nicole White
Jake Gillespie Nora McGreevy Megan Wilson
Nicholas Gron Annalie Nagel Jessica Zlaket
Jessica Hardey Kim Nguyen Christina Zobel
Alec Helmke Mary Ninneman Samantha Lynch
Dominic Iannelli Irena Oh