Appalachia Service Learning Badge

Appalachia Badge V3 Photoshop Award Description: Engaging fully with a service learning experience can bring lasting change. Students can earn this badge by demonstrating, with creativity, critical thinking, and thoughtfulness, what they learned (and are continuing to learn) through their experience in the Appalachia Seminar. Up to 30% of students will be awarded this badge if their portfolios demonstrate high-quality evidence of lessons learned, observations, and action steps moving forward.  Awardees exemplify excellent participation in this seminar and service learning in general. Recipients of this badge may have their ePortfolio displayed on the Center for Social Concerns website.

Criteria: Each log will be scored on a rubric from 0-3. Those with the highest combined scores will then be considered by the course instructor and given an overall score in order to find top 30%. Extra attention will be given to:

  • Use of multimedia, artifacts, and creative design

  • Honoring the communities you will be visiting

  • Demonstrating lessons learned and action steps

Eligibility: Available to all undergraduate students who participate in the Center for Social Concerns Appalachia Seminar

Badge Award Dates: December or January, yearly

For a complete list of students who have claimed this badge, visit the Notre Dame Credly page. Please note that not all ePortfolios are public and some may require an ND login to access. To login, click here.

2015 Badge Earners

Ngor Anyieth Mary Howard Anne Richelsen
Brittany Benninger Molly Knapp Kathryn Sage
Timothy Brennan Sandrine Lareine Brian Sayles
Mary Broadbent Sabrina Lichon Allyson Scruggs
Michael Broderick Adam Logeman Beth Vander Hoek
Barry Bryant Nicholas Lombardo Tierney Vrdolyak
Erin Callaghan Madeline McKenna Luke Wajrowski
Lily Falzon Nancy McNamara Margaret Walsh
Margaret Gentine Michael O'Connor Thomas Walsh
Kelley Heaslip Alison O'Connor Mary White
Kelly Heiniger Carolina Ochoa Zachary Wiley
Katricia Herring Emily Okupski Nicholas Yusko
Madison Hetlage Lydia Piendel  
Michaela Hoffmann Emma Qualy-Pearson  


2014 Badge Earners

Margaret Arriola Beverly Kyalwazi Anvi Ton
Jasmine Bruning Kristen Loehle Julianna Vidales
Kerrianne Conroy Kayla Matthews Alexander Waren
Savanna Dinkel Mary Mecca Savannah Washlesky
Katherine Disser Sarah Tomas Morgan Grace Weissend
Kathleen Egan Margaret Quinn Kristen Zavertnik
Annika Fling Katherine Schneeberger Zhengyi Zhang
Kimberly Hagel Elena Silla Susan Zhu
Joshua Kuiper Taylor Still  
Monica Thomas Ashley Kyalwazi